Make Up: It’s a Girl’s World

Considering this blog  focusses on the history of make up, I think it’s only appropriate I include a brief summary of my own make up history.

I’ve always been a sucker for make up. Or at least I have been since the Christmas I received a Girls World.

In retrospect, receiving what appeared to be a severed female head now seems a little bit odd, and also reminds me of a particularly disturbing scene from Return to Oz, but I do remember my absolute joy upon receiving said creepy item.

Having seen so many TV adverts for Girls World, which I seem to recall played Queen’s ‘It’s a Kind of Magic’ to emphasize the wonder of her glowing tiara, I was ecstatic when my Girls World was given to me on Christmas day. But, after many joyful years of defacing my pet head with make up, I finally became too cool for her.

And so at the end of primary school I donated the old gal to the school charity fair. Though I laughed as the boys bought her for 20p, gave her a bogwash and hurled her up a tree, a part of me withered away when I saw her deranged face and straggly blond locks hanging from the branches.

Scarring childhood memories aside, Girls World and a couple of cheap palettes were my first experience of make up, shortly followed by enormous and overly-elaborate make-up sets from the Argos catalogue.

I then progressed through all the standard cosmetic phases of a tween girl, investing in brands such as  Boots’ Natural Collection, Miss Sporty, and Collection 2000. Body Shop lip balms also seemed to be a common trend from the age of about 11-14 (I can still taste the mango-flavoured gunge).

A radical shift took place at around 15 years of age, where I started to become aware of the fact that I was ‘growing up’. I moved from the likes of Sugar to Urban Decay, and began leaning towards more ‘sophisticated’ brands in general – or at least those with sleeker packaging. Since then I’ve been hooked on Benefit, Mac and any other brand which is both high in quality and beautifully wrapped.

That, in short, is mine and make up’s relationship history. It’s strange to think back to a time where you may have worn glitter mascara and too much sticky lip gloss, but can you remember your make up history?

17 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I discovered makeup around the same time I discovered Marilyn Manson so it was lashings of collection 2000 black eyeliner to go with my cheap maroon hair dye. I do remember having shedloads of sticky lipgloss too though, had to get those bad boys out for a trip to the disco.

    Love how you got Return to Oz in there. Definitely a hot topic right now babez.

    • Totally. It came full circle this eve when I thought about my poor old Girls World. Am considering featuring Gothic make up in one of the ‘era’ photoshoots, had even thought of somehow trying to recreate that scene from Return to Oz. If so care to take part? Will be mega fun.

      • I remember asking for those massive Argos make up sets! With a zillion different eyeshadow (and blusher, for some reason) shades!

        I think the reason we did frosty blue eyeshadow was because the damn tween mags gave them away for free. I had make-up free mum and a goth big sister so I was fairly mental in my experimentation.

        Another huge thing was body glitter. Weird, clear slime with glitter in that you put everywhere. And hair mascara, a random streak of purple or glitter or something! I still love makeup but I have swapped my Miners for Touche Eclat. Still swear by Rimmel’s liquid eyeliner though…

      • CONGEALING GLITTER SLIME! Excellent. As for Touche Eclat, do you really rate it? I’m not that impressed. Give me Max Factor concealer any day.

  2. I can remember the first time I wore make up. Mine is a somewhat less eloquent affair though. I got attacked by a group of friends at a party who bludgeoned my face with mascara and all manner of atrocities. I didn’t like it. We didn’t make up afterwards either.

  3. Oh god, hair mascara!

  4. Touche eclat = actual magic.

    It’s the only luxury cosmetic thing I buy regularly (you can get it online for £17ish and it lasts months.)

  5. I do love touche eclat but I always find that when I wear it on nights out, the photos of me look ridic because I end up with a big red face and white circles under my eyes because all my other makeup minus the touche eclat sweats off.

    As for rimmel liquid eyeliner, I’ve been wearing that every day since I was 15.

    And Heledd, you can make me up like a mad goth anytime you like! That would be HILAR

  6. Remeber that lip balm phase. Used to get pots of the stuff from The Body Shop and just slap em on. Looking back I have no idea why we did this, the boys hated it. Slightly off topic, but does anyone remeber bath pearls??? Where have they gone?

    Other than that I never really wore make up, I was struggling too much with my hair :/

  7. Benefit’s packaging gets my every time, even though I know it shouldn’t. It’s so kitsch and collectable I don’t even care what I’m buying! xxxx

  8. So as we arn’t talking specifically about facial make up products here (see discussion about hair mascara), I’ll tell you all about my first beauty product. It was delightfully gold, amazingly glittery and oh-so-very-gloopy. Oh yes, I’m talking about old-school nail varnish, which I could literally pick off bit by little glittery bit. And yet, it was the most fab-u-lous invention, like, EVER.

    Along with clear mascara, Natural Collection. Boom.

  9. Hey there Heledd,
    Funny read!
    The very best of luck with your blog!

  10. Great post. I was checking constantly this weblog and I’m inspired! Extremely helpful info specifically the remaining phase 🙂 I take care of such information much. I used to be seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thanks and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

