Company Beauty Desk

Yesterface chats to Beauty Assistant Sam Flowers, 26, about what it’s like to work on the Company beauty desk…

Hi Sam! So, how did you start out at Company?

I studied English Literature at Leeds University and every summer during my degree I came down to London  to intern at various magazines. Glamour, Tatler, OK!, Heat, Woman & Home – you name it, I interned there.

Then, when I finished Uni I did a year stint in the beauty department at Psychologies, followed by Grazia, and I’ve been at Company now for 18 months.

Sam Flowers Company Magazine Beauty Desk
Sam Flowers and a ton of beauty products

What interests you about beauty?

My mum owned beauty salons at home so I grew up around beauty. I always wanted to be a journalist and the two together is my dream combination.

What are your responsibilities as beauty assistant?

I write all the single pages and celebrity interviews, attend launches, organise shoots here and abroad and come up with ideas that you guys would love to read about!

What do you enjoy most about being a beauty journalist?

No two days are the same.

What are the major perks of your job?

Meeting amazing, inspiring people and trying lots of products.

Do you get to keep all of the amazing products you get sent?

Yes!!

beauty desk Company magazine
Just your average work desk.

What three make up items couldn’t you live without?

Max Factor False Lash Effect Mascara, Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturiser and Stila Convertible Color Blush – it adapts to suit every skin tone.

What’s been the highlight of your career so far?

Beyoncé calling me! I interviewed her for the September issue of Company about  her new fragrance. Because of the time difference it was 9pm our time, so I was at home sat on my bed when she called. I picked up, heard ‘Hi, this is Beyoncé’ and thought, ‘This is too surreal!’

What do you love about Company?

The people.

Advice for wannabe beauty journalists?

Intern!

Thanks Sam!

Beyonce Company Magazine Interview
"Hi, it's Beyonce..." Oh hello, Beyonce. (image: company.co.uk)

ps. I managed to chat to Sam during my one-month internship at Company magazine. The placement was absolutely brilliant – I was given so many different opportunities and responsibilities incl. writing articles, interviewing celebs and assisting on celeb photo shoots.

If you’re considering a career in women’s magazines, I definitely recommend applying for work experience at Company – you’ll gain invaluable experience AND have a fab time!

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I’m desperate for work experience at company, I’m doing an English literature degree and I have done experience at my local newspapers as well as getting involved with journalism at uni. I have emailed my CV and cover letter to a woman called Lena De Casparis, is she the right person to contact for work experience?

Leave a Reply

