My Little Pony: Hair Icon

Ah, My Little Pony. Remember the days when you’d carefully comb your favourite plastic pony’s brightly coloured mane? No?

Well anyway, fast forward a couple of decades and it looks as if celebrities have taken inspiration from said childhood toy…

My Little Pony
My Little Pony. RETRO. (maryloucinnamon.blogspot.com)

In case you haven’t already noticed, psychedelic  hair has become all the rage recently, and I for one am strangely enamoured with this rainbow-inspired trend.

From Lauren Conrad’s pink ponytail to Katy Perry’s blue ‘do; Gaga’s custard curls to Kelly Osbourne’s blueberry bouffant; electric shades are lighting up the celebrity circuit!

Lady Gaga Katy Perry Kelly Osbourne and Lauren Conrad
Gaga, Katy, Kelly and Lauren go colour-crazy!

In fact, the more I think about it, the more I notice how several celebs are beginning to resemble the MoonDreamers. Remember them? They were amazing.

The Moondreamers
The Moondreamers aka Best Cartoon Ever (image: behindthevoiceactors.com)

Anyway, I’m glad these celebrities have gone bonkers with the hair dye. After all, we need some silly colours to brighten up these bleak economic times. Recession? Whatevz, I prefer a dip-dye to a double-dip. (See what I did there? I put a beauty trend in its wider social context).

To be fair, Beyonce did the whole dip-dye thing aaages ago (remember, in the video for Bootylicious back in 2001?) And another lady ahead of her time here is my pal Laura Kelly, who opted for super-bright shades back in 2008. I’ll leave you with a couple of snaps – who knows, you may be inspired!

pink and purple hair
Pink or purple? The choice is yours!

Yesterface fact: In ancient times, hair dyes were obtained from plants such as henna, indigo, red ochre and even leeks. The development of synthetic dyes for hair is traced back to the 1860s.

Leave a Reply

