60s Makeup Tutorial

Following the recent 60s party on Made in Chelsea I felt inspired to do a quick 60s makeover of my own.

I based my look on Twiggy’s swinging eye makeup and Brigitte Bardot’s bountiful bouffant. Read on to find out which products I used!

60s makeup Twiggy
60s Twiggy set the pace…

Complexion

  • Firstly I applied Clinique Superbalanced Makeup in 03 Ivory and then swept FakeBake bronzer across my cheekbones for definition.
  • For a nude pout I simply added a touch of the Clinique foundation to my lips. Works a treat if you’re short of lippy! Use sparingly though as it can get a little congealed.
  • I think it’s important when you’re going for a 60s look to ensure that your eyebrows are thick and well defined. I stuck with my usual favourite and applied Benefit’s Brow Zings. Best brow kit ever. Fact.

Heledd Williams 60s makeup

Eyes

Heledd Williams 60s makeup

Hair

  • Firstly I straightened my hair using GHDs and Aussie’s Take the Heat spray (the latter is well worth using).
  • Then, I sprayed my roots with plenty of Batiste Dry Shampoo before backcombing small sections around the crown of my head.
  • I then back-combed my fringe, clipped it back and secured it with L’Oreal Paris Elnett Satin Dry hairspray.
  • I also added a few feathery flicks to my main body of hair using GHDs, just to relax the look and make it a bit more feminine.
  • This is a quick and easy way of injecting the era’s va-va-voom into your everyday look, but if you really want to ramp it up, I suggest whacking on a thick Alice band or going all out and fashioning a huge beehive!

Heledd Williams 60s makeup

Thanks to Matthew Pryce for being my photographer! Ha! x

Leave a Reply

